Child Development

Child Development

This course is designed for students who have an interest in children’s learning and development and wish to develop the skills and learn the theory that can prepare them for further study and employment within the childcare sector.

Academic year 2017 – 18

The GCSE Home Economics: Child Development course will give learners the opportunity to study children aged 0 to 5 years, developing an understanding of:

  • parenthood
  • pregnancy
  • diet, health & care of the child
  • development of the child
  • support for the parent & child

Assessment information:

  • Unit 1: Written paper (40%)
  • Unit 2: Research task (20%)
  • Unit 3: Child Study (40%)

Academic year 2018 – 19 & beyond

OCR Level 1/ 2 Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development.

This qualification is for KS4 students who wish to develop applied knowledge and practical skills in child development. It is equivalent to a GCSE in both size and in rigour.

Unit 1: The first unit underpins all of the other learning in this qualification. All students will learn the essential knowledge and understanding for child development, covering reproduction, parental responsibility, antenatal care, birth, postnatal checks, care, conditions for development, childhood illnesses and child safety. (written exam representing 50% of final mark)

Unit 2: In Unit 2, students will gain knowledge of the equipment needs of babies and young children and an understanding of the factors to be considered when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs. They will also gain knowledge of nutrition and hygiene practices and will be given the opportunity to evaluate dietary choices. (coursework representing 25% of final mark)

Unit 3: In Unit 3, students will gain knowledge of, and skills in, developing activities to observe development norms in children up to the age of five. This unit will include researching, planning, carrying out activities with children and observing and reviewing these activities, as well as an understanding of the development norms and the benefits of play in child development. (coursework representing 25% of final mark)

 All results are awarded on the following scale:

 • Distinction* at Level 2 (*2)

• Distinction at Level 2 (D2)

• Merit at Level 2 (M2)

• Pass at Level 2 (P2)

• Distinction at Level 1 (D1)

• Merit at Level 1 (M1)

• Pass at Level 1 (P1).